Foodie Pen Pal! Fourth Month – August 2012

Another last day of the month, which means another Foodie Pen Pal reveal day.

This is part of a program called Foodie Pen Pals in which every month I get/send a basket from/to another foodie from around the country. Then on the last day of the month, everyone reveals who their pen pal was, what they received, and get to see what everyone else got :-)

This month I received a fantastic package from Shelby Suzuki aka “Everyday Vegan Girl”. Shelby sent me a package of many things I would never have bought for myself before but plan to by now. Thank you for introducing me to so many new and wonderful products. First up as always is the wonderful note sent to me by Shelby. As she said, I better like coconut, almonds, and chocolate… luckily, I LOVE all three. **Spoiler alert** The note has a list of all the items received, so if you want to be surprised, skip over it.

So what were these wonderful treats. First up, an item that does not appear in any pictures because I accidentally ate them all first… (my bad) Inca Corn Nuts. Salty, crunchy, and the perfect movie snack. So much healthier than popcorn and in my opinion tastes better too without getting all stuck in your teeth. Then we have  a Cocoa Almond spread. Much like Nutella, it is versatile and delicious. Absolutely love it and use it a few times a week. Then an almond butter. I love nut butters, but I so rarely by them for myself and when I do it is usually peanut butter. So having a bit of variety was fantastic. Then was the organic food bar. Chocolate and coconut… yumm. I am not usually a big fan of these bars, but I must admit. This one was pretty good. Worked perfect one morning when I was running late and needed a quick bite to eat to hold me over till Lunch. I may look into some of the other flavors of this brand and try them out. Then came one of the biggest surprises of the box: the chocolate sundae began candy bar. I am not sure if it really tasted like a chocolate sundae, but it did taste quite yummy. I nice crunch, sweet and salty mix. I would definitely eat more of these. Finally, one of the most unique items in the box, ginger chews. These candies have a great deal of spice but are so different and simply superb. Only for those that enjoy ginger and spice, but if you do… GET SOME!

Next we have a wonderful cranberry almond trail mix. Great salty and sweet mix (my favorite flavor combination) with a bit of tartness thrown in for good measure. Quality trail mix that I really enjoyed. Bare Naked really does have some wonderful products. Then, one of my favorite ingredients to use both in cooking and as a drink mixer… Pineapple juice. Try it with some Disaronno, I call it the “Nutty Hawaiian”. My favorite drink. Speaking of favorites, my favorite item in this month’s package, these SunTree cinnamon almonds. Almonds coated with cinnamon, vanilla, and cream cheese. Each bite was like eating a mini Cinnamon Almond Cheesecake. I MUST FIND MORE OF THESE. They were so good. Really… Please tell me where I can get some more… Om nom nom.

Finally, last but certainly not least was a great addition of the homemade variety. Shelby’s very own Coconut trail mix… WITH RECIPE. This mix had a great crunch, a tad bit of sweetness, and I have made it since and will make it again. I could not help but grab a handful as soon as I opened the package before I even took my pictures. Take a look!

Thank you so much Shelby for an amazing Foodie Pen Pal package. Please check out what she got from her pen pal and her fantastic blog, Everyday Vegan Girl.

As for what I sent, my pen pal recipient was Tasha Malcolm. This package was a bit more random, but definitely a lot of fun items, some of which were inspired by items I had received in the past. To check out what it consisted of, head over to Tasha’s blog!

Well, thus ends my fourth Foodie Pen Pal experience, and again it was an extremely positive one. I can not wait till September’s list is revealed and I get to do it all over again, month after month. If you want to take part in this program check it out:

The Lean Green Bean

Be sure to stay tuned for the big reveal on the last day of each month :-) Until next time, this is Jason “MaurPowerFoodie” signing off… Thanks for reading.

About MaurPowerFoodie

Born in raised in small town Monroe,CT and raised by a mother that believed everyone should be able to cook, food became a huge part of my life. I have since become an attorney, spend free time acting and doing stand-up comedy, but my passion is the art of cooking. Yes, cooking is an art. A way to express myself on a plate (or in a bowl, or whatever other canvas I use). My cooking style? Good ol' fashioned comfort food with a twist... Especially gourmet burgers and BBQ. I hope you enjoy joining me as I review food experiences I have wherever I go, share my own recipes, and quite simply spread the love and passion I have for the art that is cooking as I pursue my culinary journey. View all posts by MaurPowerFoodie

Leave a comment