Foodie Pen Pal! Second Month – June 2012

As it is the last day of the month it is time for my new monthly routine/post… Reveal day for Foodie Pen Pals!

This is part of a program called Foodie Pen Pals in which every month I get/send a basket from/to another foodie from around the country. Then on the last day of the month, everyone reveals who their pen pal was, what they received, and get to see what everyone else got :-)

This month’s package was from Kim Worobey. Kim claims she just sent me stuff she knew she would want, but I am almost positive she traveled to CT, looked in my pantry, read my mind and sent me things she knew I would LOVE. First I open up my box to find this:

What a nice note! And attached to each item in my package was a little sticky note about the food. Speaking of the food, let’s get to it. First up is the savory and then we’ll move to the sweet. Kim knew all about my love for meat and grilling, especially as we enter into grilling season. She sent me some unique and delicious dry rub, a garlic, chives, and horseradish powder, and of course some jerky!

I will admit I did not eat the jerky yet… I am saving it for the next time I go hiking, camping, or fishing (most likely fishing), but it looks like some solidly good jerky. Next the seasoning powder. This is not a combination I would have ever thought of in a seasoning bottle, but it is GREAT! Not overpowering in the horseradish, which is very important to me and hard to accomplish. Finally, my favorite item in the package: a Java Dry Rub. Perfect for a pork chop, I knew exactly what I was doing with this pleasant gift. All I can say is YUM! Java and pork go so well together, and this is an amazing rub. Here, take a look at the perfectly coarse dry rub:

Alright, now on to the sweet components. First Kim sent me a cookie that reminded me a lot of Berger cookies from my days living in Baltimore. A beautifully rich chocolate fudge and sweet soft cookie. These really brought me back. Then a Chocolate bar… but not just any chocolate bar, a Polish chocolate bar. A sensually and sinfully amazing chocolate bar. A chocolate bar that Kim warned me I would want to eat all in one sitting, but should savor and be patient as to avoid a stomach ache. As difficult as it was, I heeded Kim’s advice and am proud to say I ate a little each day. But wow… Kim knows her chocolate. Take a look at my sweet tooth satisfiers:

Thank you so much Kim for my personalized package. I loved it and look forward to keeping up with your blog for some awesome baked goods recipes.

As for the package I sent this month, that went to Danielle Deskins! This was a bit of a challenging month for me because Danielle and her family eat mostly organic and natural  foods… much the opposite of my usual diet. But I had a lot of fun shopping for her and I hope she enjoyed everything. Be sure to check out the package on her blog.

Well, thus ends my second Foodie Pen Pal experience, and again it was an extremely positive one. I can not wait till July’s list is revealed and I get to do it all over again, month after month. If you want to take part in this program check it out:

The Lean Green Bean

Be sure to stay tuned for the big reveal on the last day of each month :-) Until next time, this is Jason “MaurPowerFoodie” signing off… Thanks for reading.

About MaurPowerFoodie

Born in raised in small town Monroe,CT and raised by a mother that believed everyone should be able to cook, food became a huge part of my life. I have since become an attorney, spend free time acting and doing stand-up comedy, but my passion is the art of cooking. Yes, cooking is an art. A way to express myself on a plate (or in a bowl, or whatever other canvas I use). My cooking style? Good ol' fashioned comfort food with a twist... Especially gourmet burgers and BBQ. I hope you enjoy joining me as I review food experiences I have wherever I go, share my own recipes, and quite simply spread the love and passion I have for the art that is cooking as I pursue my culinary journey. View all posts by MaurPowerFoodie

2 responses to “Foodie Pen Pal! Second Month – June 2012

Leave a Reply

