The James Beard Awards

Last night was ever prestigious James Beard Awards. I wanted to share the winners with you as I know I will be making an effort to try the cuisine of these outstanding chefs, restaurants, restauranteurs, wine programs, and bars:

Outstanding Chef: Daniel Humm, Eleven Madison Park (NYC)
Outstanding Restaurant: Boulevard (San Francisco)
Rising Star Chef: Christina Tosi, Momofuku Milk Bar (NYC)
Best New Restaurant:  Next (Chicago)
Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH):  Bruce Sherman, North Pond (Chicago)
Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (D.C., DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA): Maricel Presilla, Cucharamama (Hoboken, NJ)
Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI): Tory Miller, L’Etoile (Madison, WI)
Best Chef: New York City: Michael Anthony, Gramercy Tavern
Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, NY STATE, RI, VT): Tim Cushman, O Ya (Boston)
Best Chef: Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY), Matt Dillon, Sitka & Spruce (Seattle)
Best Chef: Pacific (CA, HI), Matt Molina, Osteria Mozza (Los Angeles)
Best Chef: South (AL, AR, FL, LA, MS): Chris Hastings, Hot and Hot Fish Club (Birmingham, AL)
Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV), Hugh Acheson, Five and Ten (Athens, GA) and Linton Hopkins, Restaurant Eugene (Atlanta)
Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, CO, NM, NV, OK, TX, UT), Paul Qui, Uchiko (Austin, TX)
Outstanding Wine, Beer or Spirits Professional, Paul Grieco, Terroir (NYC)
Outstanding Wine Program, No. 9 Park (Boston)
Outstanding Bar Program, PDT (NYC)
Outstanding Service, La Grenouille (NYC)
Outstanding Pastry Chef, Mindy Segal, Mindy’s Hot Chocolate (Chicago)
Outstanding Restaurateur, Tom Douglas, Tom Douglas Restaurants (Seattle)

To see pictures of the awards, check out FoodRepublic. Also for more information on the awards and foundation check James Beard Foundation.

Check in for a Mother’s Day post this weekend!

Till next time, this is Jason “MaurPowerFoodie” Maur signing out.

About MaurPowerFoodie

Born in raised in small town Monroe,CT and raised by a mother that believed everyone should be able to cook, food became a huge part of my life. I have since become an attorney, spend free time acting and doing stand-up comedy, but my passion is the art of cooking. Yes, cooking is an art. A way to express myself on a plate (or in a bowl, or whatever other canvas I use). My cooking style? Good ol' fashioned comfort food with a twist... Especially gourmet burgers and BBQ. I hope you enjoy joining me as I review food experiences I have wherever I go, share my own recipes, and quite simply spread the love and passion I have for the art that is cooking as I pursue my culinary journey. View all posts by MaurPowerFoodie

Leave a Reply

